Godzilla Movie

One Final Hypothesis: Exoskeletons

1313 Views10 Replies
Forum Topic

Something Real

MemberGodzillaMay-07-2014 12:12 AM
Hello there. As we draw closer to the final reveal of Godzilla (2014) in which all of our questions and speculations will (hopfully) be answered, I've devised a final question I'd like to pose: do you believe the MUTO organisms will evidence exoskeletons of any kind? They seem to have an insectoid physiology, ergo they could very well possess exoskeletal structures. However, this raises another question: could a life-form that large remain stable without an internalized skeletal support? As always, your thoughts and conjecture on this topic are most appreciated, even if you choose to keep them to yourself. :)
10 Replies

bodzilla

MemberMothra LarvaeMay-07-2014 3:49 AM

I'm no expert but I'd expect their legs to have visible joints if it was a true insect like exoskeleton, they might have plating on their back and chest that could explain the insect like why their legs seem to join to their body.

I don't think something with a traditional skelton as big as Godzilla would be able to walk on land, but the trailers show a giant skeleton in a cave, so I guess it makes sense in the context of the film.   Maybe a real animal would need some kind of sparse lattice structure to keep the weight down.

Deadite Kaiju

MemberMothra LarvaeMay-07-2014 5:04 AM

To be honest I think the MUTO's have a bone structure very similar to the Xenomorphs from Alien.

Top Hat Gyaos

MemberMothra LarvaeMay-07-2014 6:38 AM

DEADITE KAIJU is right. The Xenos have a peculiar body system. In some areas that are vital (e.g. chest, head) they have hard exoskeletons. In the rest of the body like the legs and arms, are made of a tough skin, for protection and durability.

Be yourself, for everyone else is taken.

TheGMan123

MemberTitanosaurusMay-07-2014 7:01 AM