Godzilla Movie

To Gareth Edwards: The Direction Style of Godzilla 2

3055 Views48 Replies
Forum Topic

Umi Kun

MemberMothra LarvaeSep-17-2014 12:44 AM

Hello,

This is my first time posting so please excuse any mistakes if there are any.

This is my question/suggestion to Gareth Edwards. I'm take every chance there is that this would actually get to him.

I just bought my Bluray of Godzilla today and after viewing the Extra Content, I see that Gareth Edwards was trying to use this technique where he puts the audience into the places of the people in the movie. Like from inside a car, from a helicopter, from the school bus on the bridge, etc. This is all so that we can get the sheer size and massiveness of the creature that is Godzilla.

My question is: Will he do this again in the second movie ? And below is my suggestion.

While I do understand that if you were to once again "introduce" Godzilla to the audience, it's important to let them know how giant Godzilla is. But in the second film, it would be a battle royale of 4 giant monsters. I believe using the techniques in the first film like the foreshadowing and the teasing (cutting away from battles) a second time would be completely unnecessary and quite honestly, annoying. I can guarantee a disastrously low rating if the Gareth Edwards make the audience approach the second film the same way as the first. And it's not only because the fans will be angry, it's also because then the movie probably deserve a low rating.

When you've chosen 3 monsters from the already existing Toho's Godzilla universe, it's obvious you wanted to appeal to the past fanbase. And these aren't any monsters, they are considered Godzilla's ultimate rivals. When you handle things like that, you need to hand over the spotlight to them.